Quick overview: Resco Mobile CRM & data synchronization

sync

The alpha and omega of using CRM on the go is your data. Access to data whenever and wherever. Therefore, Resco Mobile CRM offers two types of approaches to data that can be used as needed.

Online mode

First is Online mode. In a situation where you have a strong and stable Internet connection to the CRM server, you can use Online mode to work with your data stored directly on the CRM server. So the records that you see are directly from the CRM and updates and saves are immediately reflected on the server, including the triggering of workflows and plugins.

Offline mode

But what if you need to work under conditions where there is no stable Internet connection or no connection at all? For this case, there’s Offline mode in the Resco Mobile CRM app. In Offline mode, the app uses its local (offline) database to store the CRM data. All records that should be available in  Offline mode need to be synchronized (downloaded) from the CRM server to the app’s local database. Also changes, made in Offline mode, need to be synchronized (uploaded) to the CRM server when the connection is restored. Synchronization at the same time updates records that were created or changed in Offline mode to the CRM server, and vice versa, changes made on the CRM server are downloaded to the Resco app.

Sync filters

To define which records from your CRM server should be available in Offline mode, synchronization filters are used for each entity.

There are two types of synchronization: full sync (initial), and incremental sync.

Full sync

Full sync is performed when the Resco Mobile CRM app is used for the first time after installation, or when the app doesn’t have any data stored in its local (offline) database. In case of such synchronization, the Resco Mobile CRM app downloads all data from the CRM server that meet the sync filter conditions. The sync filter is used to define what data will be downloaded to the Resco Mobile CRM app’s local database.

Incremental sync

In case of incremental synchronization, the Mobile CRM app downloads all records that the user has permission for and were created or updated since the last synchronization. After the download, synchronization filters are used to remove records that don’t meet the required conditions. Only records that do follow the sync filters will be kept in the local database.

Online sync

You can synchronize records between the Resco Mobile CRM app and your CRM server anytime you have a connection to your CRM server. Changes are then stored to the app’s local database, so if an Internet connection is unavailable, you can easily switch to Offline mode and continue working with records that you updated recently.

All of the above takes place when the user hits the synchronization button. By default the synchronization is performed with a pop-up progress window, making the user wait until the synchronization completes. We call this a foreground sync.

Foreground vs. background sync

You also have the option to run the synchronization in the Resco Mobile CRM app’s background. The app still needs to be running on the screen, but there’s no pop-up progress window, so users can continue working with the Resco Mobile CRM app while the sync is running.

However, there are situations when the foreground sync is required, for example when changes to the mobile project have been made. In that case the foreground sync prevents users from modifying data when there is a potential change in the project structure – e.g. adding/removing an entity or a field to/from the project.

Sync automation

When using background synchronization, it is also possible to specify when it should be performed automatically, without the user’s input (no need to hit the sync button). Synchronization can be triggered when the Resco Mobile CRM app is started, when there is a change to records, or after saving a change.

Automatic background sync

It is also possible to set up a time interval in which the Resco Mobile CRM app will try to synchronize. When there’s no connection to the CRM server at the pre-scheduled time, the sync will not be performed. But when the connection is restored, the app will synchronize again.

Changing between modes

When switching between Online and Offline mode, it is possible to specify whether the user should be informed about the need to synchronize, or even force the synchronization automatically.

If you want to learn more about data synchronization and other technical details of Resco Mobile CRM, make sure to join us at resco.next 2018 in Prague – our premier educational event focusing on all things Resco and business mobility. You can now get your conference pass as part of our special early bird offer, available until the end of August.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s